ankward picture, just for you

Yesterday was my first run in three weeks.  I really wanted to take it slow, around ten minute miles, and not push too hard and end up hurt again.  I took it a little slower than I wanted to, but I got it done!!  Mentally it felt fabulous.  Physically I felt like I was completely starting over again.  I even have my calf pains that I used to get in the beginning.  They are so tight!  I’m running again, and I am so happy!!  2.93 miles in 30:36, first two miles uphill.  Jamie even came with me!!  My splits are all over the place.  Mile 1: 9:38, Mile 2: 12:19, Last .93: 8:37.

Life is still crazy hectic next week, my 14-15 hour days are now 15-16 hour days so I won’t be doing much running until next weekend.  After that though I’m back at it at 5:00 am.  Speaking of a rough life, I don’t even know how she manages to get through the stress of hers…

I don’t get to lay in bed and read whatever I want this weekend.  My teacher decided to assign five chapters of homework due on the first night of class, so I’m spending the weekend doing that.  I can tell this is going to be a rough class already.  I’m so excited!!  I feel a little better about all this homework after laying in bed for the last hour with the windows open.  Spring is finally here!!

One of my biggest problem areas during training is my IT band.  My uncle is a physical therapist and taught me a stretch that really helps me out.  It’s awkward.  Awkward photos were meant for blogging, right?

Does my butt look big at this angle??  Ha ha!  So stand in front of something stable for balance, put your right leg behind the left, and as you squat push that right leg straight to your left until it starts to stretch your IT band.  For a little more, tilt your torso to the left.  And do it to the other side.  This is the only thing that makes my hip feels better, hope it helps you too!!

Happy Mother’s Day to all you mommies out there!!

One thought on “ankward picture, just for you

Leave a comment