feelin’ good

Guess who got up at the buttcrack of dawn (aka 4:30 am) and went to the gym?  This girl.  And I RAN!!  It felt sooo good!  First time in three weeks.  I only did a mile, but I did it without pain.  If I can go the whole day without pain again I’ll try for three miles in the morning.  I am very happy today!  Yesterday Jamie and I talked for a couple of hours and made plans for next Friday.  I added all the places I need to go into my TomTom so we can pick up our bibs, find our hotel and pig out.  I compared maps to see how hard it’s going to be to get to the start from our hotel with roads closed, I looked up elevation maps, course maps, and my bib number.  848.  I know what you’re thinking… it has good flow.  That’s what Jamie said too.  I don’t know if it was the excitement from research, but I am obsessive excited again!  I feel pretty confident.  I can do this!!  I am going to have butterflies for the next week.  Mother Nature just might be my best friend.  Today is the first day that the 16th is included in the 10 day forecast and the weather man is saying 60.  That’s kind of a big deal for April in Utah.  Last year it was snowing on June 10 as we got on the plane for our wedding.

By the way, meet Jamie.

She is amazing.  She is a fitness fanatic, and you can definitely tell.  She has an awesome body!  I say that in a friendly, nonsexual, uncreepy way.  That’s why I am taking her to an Anniversary Inn and telling the person that checks us in that we are newlyweds.  Muah ha ha ha.  It’s fun that she gets embarrassed so easy.  Anyway, she hated running.  I talked her into doing this marathon with me.  We stuck to the same training plan together and she improved so fast.  We got up to 14 miles and she got injured.  The doctor says she needs surgery but she is trying home remedies first.  So my marathon buddy is my cheerleader, and she doesn’t think she’ll ever be able to run distance again, but she is still going to be there, she is still supporting me, and this is why I love her.  Well that, and she just bought me some WarHead gummies.

I should also mention that my husband is awesome and actually very supportive.  He thinks running is stupid, and I might punch him if I hear, “That limp must be from all that healthy running you do” one more time.  Really, he is fabulous though!  He got me an iPod so that I don’t have to run the marathon without music.  He kicks me out of bed when the alarm goes off at 4:30.  And the reason he is working during my race is so he can take me to Wendover for my birthday.  I share my birthday with his brother, and it’s his year to pick what we do.  I have never been gambling before, and I think I’d rather gamble that money towards some running gear, but hopefully it will be a blast!  Maybe I’ll win enough money to retire.  You can win like a million dollars on penny slots, right?

Leave a comment